Accounting: Close Month/Restrict Month

The Close Month and Restrict Month utilities prevent posting in prior months so that financial figures don’t suddenly change when they were previously balanced. These utilities function on a permission basis, so only one employee at your dealership can have access to do this.

Close Month/Restrict Month

The Close Month and Restrict Month utilities prevent posting in prior months so that financial figures don’t suddenly change when they were previously balanced. These utilities function on a permission basis, so only one employee at your dealership can have access to do this.

To restrict a month, navigate to the Tools menu in the Accounting module and click Restrict Month.

Specify which month of what year you want to restrict and click OK. Note that restricting a month allows you to specify certain individuals in permissions to still be able to post to that month, even though to the rest of the dealership, that month is closed.

 

 

 

 

 

To close a month, navigate to the Tools menu and click Close Month.

This will take you to the Closing the Month screen, where you specify which month you’d like to close and hit OK. This differs from the Restrict Month utility in that no one will have the ability to post in a closed month, regardless of permissions. This is when a month is finalized and you no longer want any transactions posted within it.